1st February 2020

Ensemble 360

Price: £19/ Free for under 25's

Leading UK ensemble return to perform Messiaen’s seminal work

Considered by many to be one of the most important chamber music works of the twentieth century, Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time in eight movements for clarinet, violin, cello, and piano was premiered in 1941 at the Stalag VIII-A prisoner-of-war camp, in Görlitz, Germany, where the composer had been confined since his capture in May 1940. The programme opens with works by composers who significantly influenced Messiaen, including Debussy’s dreamlike Rhapsody for clarinet and Ravel’s brilliant and virtuosic Tzigane for violin and piano.

  • Date:
  • Venue: Wiltshire Music Centre
    Wiltshire Music Centre, Ashley Road, Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire, BA15 1DZ, United Kingdom
  • Categories: